top of page

Signed, Trade Paperback 


The Astonishing, the novel, builds on the story rendered in The Astonishing, the ground-breaking concept album by the kings of progressive metal, Dream Theater. The novel adds new plot lines and intrigue, additional characters and motivations, as well as explanations and ideas not explored on the album. ​It also has several exclusives, as noted below.

Writer of The Astonishing, the novel, Peter Orullian spent many long sessions in person and by phone with guitarist, song-writer, and producer of The Astonishing, John Petrucci. Through those conversations he gathered a depth of understanding into Petrucci's story and vision. Orullian then began to ideate on ways to extrapolate the core story, build in rationale for key pieces of the world, and introduce story elements to further expand and deepen the story that has become the novel.

About the book
In a not so distant future, our world has returned to the ugliness of feudalism. Only this time, those in power control the servant class with the very thing that once inspired men to rise up and take back their lives—music. But it is not the music of old. That music is forgotten. No, this new music is engineered entirely by machines. This music suppresses that part of humanity which might be inspired. This music suppresses hope.

But what is old will be made new again.

In the village of Ravenskill lives a young man, Gabriel, who comes with a gift of power. A gift of music. As a human expression.

Gabriel’s brother, Arhys, leads a rebel militia that is trying to liberate the people. And he believes Gabriel’s gift is the key; a key he hopes will help him keep a promise he made his wife on her deathbed.

But the emperor and his son have different plans--to maintain control. Those plans may find an unlikely challenger in their own family. And the resulting conflict may yield lasting consequences. For them all.

With music as a moving force, the choices each player must make will bring them to a shared moment of pain. And perhaps redemption. 

Edition Details

  • Full-length novel of The Astonishing, adding new plot lines and intrigue, additional characters and motivations, answers to fan questions, as well as explanations and ideas not explored on the album
  • In-depth Introduction by John Petrucci, going deep on why he wrote The Astonishing, what it means to him, etc.
  • Author's Note from Peter Orullian
  • Definitive interviews of each member of Dream Theater, covering their experience in the genesis of the album, in performing it, what it means to them, as well as their own music history, interests, and part in the band
  • Foreword by David Campbell, renowned composer and arranger
  • Afterword by Richie Canata, original member of Billy Joel's band
  • Never-before seen hand written notes, early art renderings, photographs, etc. chronicling the development of The Astonishing, with a behind-the-scenes look at how it all came to fruition
  • An original story by John Petrucci & Peter Orullian, set in the universe of The Astonishing
  • Map of the world of The Astonishing
  • Full lyrics, song-by-song breakdown, and final synopsis as written by John Petrucci

The Astonishing - Trade Paperback, Signed

    bottom of page